We should start a Facebook group for them

November 13, 2008

“My Nephew is Gay. I support yes on 8. Just because I support yes on 8 does not make me a Hater or a bigot. I love him for him , not because he is Gay or straight. He has a lover and they come around all the time.”

I’m including this comment because it points to a fascinating phenomenon I’ve noticed recently: Everyone who supported Proposition 8 has a lone gay nephew whom s/he loves very much and who is either 1) perfectly happy to lose his right to a civil marriage or 2) completely unbothered by his aunt’s/uncle’s vote against his civil rights. You don’t have to take my word for it. Ask around, and come tell me if the number of Imaginary and/or Internally Homophobic Gay Nephews of Marriage Equality Opponents isn’t through the freaking roof.

2 Responses to “We should start a Facebook group for them”

  1. Amy said

    There’s only one nephew. His parents have several million siblings each.

  2. fearlessleader said

    * smacks forehead *

    How did I never figure that out before now?

Leave a Reply

