The common thread is Axl Rose

December 11, 2008

“Lifestyle is a choice. Why should a particular lifestyle receive special treatment? What will be next? Special treatment for rappers, rockers, and surfers, etc. Unfortunately, I live in California. I wish they would bocott California.”

Some mornings, the tortured logic of these folks (such as this one, who seems to believe that “rappers, rockers, and surfers” are not, and should not be, permitted the “special treatment” of being able to marry) becomes less interesting than the contortions my own mind performs when reading their inevitably sub-literate exegeses. For example, I initially read the last sentence of this comment as “I wish they would botox California.” And I thought “Beverly Hills is all over that idea already.” And then I realized that that had nothing to do with marriage equality. And then I realized that surfers and rappers and, heck, most of the stuff in these comments had nothing, really, to do with marriage equality. And then I went back to bed.

One Response to “The common thread is Axl Rose”

  1. Joy said

    Not only does this not have anything to do w/ marriage equality, it’s hard to figure out what it has to do with. Even if you ignore the spelling and grammar errors this is incomprehensible. He wishes rappers, rockers and surfers would boycott California? He wishes gay people would boycott California? He wishes Yes on 8 supporters would boycott California? What is this guy saying? I don’t really care, but you’d think he would.

Leave a Reply

