it’s always ourselves we find in the o.c.

December 16, 2008

“YOU PEOPLE ARE RETARDED JUST AS THE GAYS. BEING GAY IS A DISPICKABLE STATE OF MIND. AND HAROLD I AGREE CHILDREN NEED A MOTHER AND FATHER NOT A MAMA AND BUTCH AND FAIRY AND SAM”

This commenter’s concluding phrase reminds me of nothing so much as the e.e. cummings poem “maggie and milly and molly and may,” except with the Caps Lock key emphatically employed, because real, non-dispickable men (including Harold) don’t go lower-case.

3 Responses to “it’s always ourselves we find in the o.c.”

  1. JoAsakura said

    “dispickable” gives it a certain 18th Century sort of flair.

  2. fearlessleader said

    You’re right, Jo—I can imagine Dickens using it as a surname for one of his villains. (I know, that’s 19th century, but close enough….)

  3. Maud said

    I clicked the link, because I love e.e. cummings, and I didn’t remember that poem. Regrattably, due to the dithpickable influence of the commenter, I could not keep from hearing it recited in my head by Daffy Duck. Naturally enough, I identified with Molly.

Leave a Reply

