The Mystery of the Missing Marriage Rights

March 17, 2009

“This sounds gay to me. I don’t want my marriage called anything but a marriage. Same sex can call there’s anything but marriage. The Nancy boys and Johnny Girls just won’t stop till they get everyone licked.”

As someone who grew up on the sexless sleuthing of Nancy Drew and the Dana Girls, I got all nostalgic reading this comment, and I began to envision a new line of Nancy Boys and Johnny Girls mystery books for queer and questioning kids. Then I realized that the very first Hardy Boys mystery involves a guy who wears a wig and steals a jalopy called “The Queen,” so maybe I’m too late.

An old clock and a study lamp to Joy for sending this gem!

2 Responses to “The Mystery of the Missing Marriage Rights”

  1. Maud said

    “The Nancy boys and Johnny Girls just won’t stop till they get everyone licked.”

    And a noble undertaking it would be. I think he can rest easy, though. Not everyone deserves to be licked.

  2. Joy said

    I’d try and find you some more, FF, but I’m too busy writing the first Nancy Boys and Johnny Girls mystery: The Secret of the Old Fundamentalist. (Hint: all the little boys in the neighborhood know the secret.)

Leave a Reply

